2021 -2022 Student Winners


Congratulations to Winston Schneider, student of Kenneth Meints, for winning the MTNA National Junior Composition Competition!

The following were PERFORMANCE ALTERNATE WINNERS from Nebraska – MTNA West Central Division

JUNIOR STRINGS: Pauline Lee (Violin) (Ruth Meints)

SENIOR STRINGS: Elizabeth Meade (Viola) (Ruth Meints)

YOUNG ARTIST PIANO: Rebekah Stiles (Paul Barnes)

2021 Nebraska MTNA Performance Competitions Results

The State level of the Music Teachers National Association Performance Competitions were held on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Lincoln on Saturday and Sunday, October 23 and 24, 2021.  State Winners and Representatives will submit a video performance to the West Central Division which is comprised of Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.  Division Winners and Representatives will be required to travel to perform at the MTNA National Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota, March 26-30, 2022.

Teachers are in parenthesis, accompanists in brackets.

MTNA Junior Performance – Piano

Left to Right

Natalie Cheng (Fei Fei Cheng); Alternate: Jinyee Huang (Boban Martic)

Honorable Mention:  Bingyi Wang (Kathy Knebel), Austin Lewis (Stella Saperstein)

Winner:  Winston Schneider (Anne Madison)

Junior Performance – String

Winner – Pauline Lee  (Violin) (Ruth Meints)  [Seohee Son]

Alternate – Taryn Geiger (Violin) (Ruth Meints) [Dr. Madeline Rogers]

Honorable Mention –  Anna Suh (Violin) (Ruth Meints) [Yulia Kalashnikova]

                                  Auspy Li  (Violin) (William Wolcott)  [Yulia Kalashnikova]

Senior Performance – Piano

Winner – Ty Stephany (Paul Barnes)

Alternate – Nathaniel Brown (Paul Barnes)

Honorable mention – Markus Rutledge (Catherine Herbener)

                                  Clara Kendrick (Paul Barnes)

                                  Nathan Liu (Anne Madison)

Picture – MTNA Senior Piano Competitors

(L-R) Nathaniel Brown, Clara Kendrick, Nathan Liu, Ty Stephany, Markus Rutledge, Madison Dishaw, Emma Yin.  Not pictured is Thomas Koch

Winner – Ty Stephany (4th from L)
Alternate – Nathaniel Brown
Honorable Mention –
Markus Rutledge (5th from L)
Nathan Liu (3rd from L)
Clara Kendrick (2nd from L)

Senior Performance – String

Winner – Elisabeth Meade (Viola) (Ruth Meints)  [Yulia Kalashnikova]

Alternate – Emeline Burton (Viola)  (Ruth Meints)  [Jennifer Novak-Haar]

Young Artist Performance – Brass

Representative – Timothy Aulner (Horn) (Alan Mattingly)

Young Artist Performance – Piano

MTNA Young Artist Piano Competitors and their teachers

L-R: Dr. Paul Barnes, Rebekah Stiles, Shelton Siegel, Sean Lebita, Marissa Mathia, Yimeng Xu, Dr. Kristin Taylor

Winner-Rebekah Stiles (Paul Barnes), 2nd from left; Alternate-Sean Lebita (Paul Barnes), 4th from left

Young Artist Performance – Woodwind

Winner – Shannon Lotti (Flute) (John Bailey) [Šárka Stehnova]

Alternate – Jacob Cahill (Saxophone) (David Nabb)  [Dr. Marilyn Musik]

2021 MNTA Composition Results

Music Teachers National Association is pleased to announce the results of the composition competition for Nebraska.  Winning compositions automatically advance to the West Central Division competition and the results of that competition will be announced in the middle of December. Division winners will advance to the national competition.


Winner: Winston Schneider, Student of Kenneth Meints. He will advance to MTNA National Competition.

Honorable mention: Joe Arndorfer, Student of Regina Carnazzo
Honorable mention: Cora Hoeft, Student of Nancy Schoen


Winner: Dmitrii Shaposhnikov, Student of Stacey Barelos

Honorable mention: Leah Faber, Student of Regina Carnazzo This year, the Nebraska judges were:
Sam Magrill, Mary Sallee, and Bryan Stanley

2021 NMTA State Performance Competitions

The Nebraska Performance competition was held on October 23, 2021 at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Westbrook Music Building Recital Hall.  There were three levels of participants: Junior (7 students), Senior (3 students) and Collegiate (5 students). All participants were pianists were from studios of 8 teachers. The judge was Richard Steinbach, executive director of the Sioux City Symphony, concert pianist and piano professor. NMTA Performance Winners do not advance. Teachers are in parenthesis.

Junior level Left to Right

Honorable Mention:  Vicky Wu (Tammy Miller) Council Bluffs, IA

Alternate:  Junya Duan (Chern Voon Fung) Omaha

Honorable Mention:  Jack Dickinson (Ann Madison) Omaha

Winner:  Cheryl Zeng ( Marina Fabrikant) Lincoln

Senior level

Chuyee Huang, Winner (Boban Martic) Bennington

Collegiate level

Bryn Groenjes, Winner ( Kristin Jonina Taylor) Omaha

Joshua Miller, Alternate ( Kristin Jonina Taylor) Omaha