2022 -2023 Student Winners


Music Teachers National Association is pleased to announce the results of the composition competition for West Central Division.

Representative: Emma Lu, Student of Sarah Miller, MN

Winner: Joe Arndorfer, Student of Regina Carnazzo, NE
Honorable mention: Foster Hoover, Student of Connie Brown, CO

Winner: Bennett Lambelet, Student of Bryan Stanley, NE
Honorable mention: Ashton Volkmann, Student of Jon Naatjes, MN

Young Artist:
Winner: Adin Gilmore, Student of James Knight, KS
Honorable mention: Anna Klocke, Student of Paul Lombardi, SD

This year, the West Central Division judges were:
Jennifer Connor
Barbara Rogers
Zack Stanton

2022 Nebraska MTNA Performance Competitions Results

The State level of the Music Teachers National Association Performance Competitions were held on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Kearney on Saturday and Sunday, October 22 and 23, 2022.  State Winners and Representatives will submit a video performance to the West Central Division which is comprised of Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.  Division Winners and Representatives will be required to travel to perform at the MTNA National Conference in Reno, Nevada, March 25-29, 2023.

Teachers are in parenthesis, accompanists in brackets.

MTNA Junior Performance – Piano

L – Jr Piano Winner Sophie Yu (Feifei Jiang)
R – Alternate Nora Peithmann (Sandra Quiring)

Junior Performance – String

L – Honorable Mention Auspi Li (William Walcott)
Center – Winner Taryn Geiger (Ruth Meints)
R – Alternate Junyi Yuan (Chern Voon Fung)

Senior Performance – Piano

Senior piano participants
Winner (2nd R back row) Ty Stephany (Paul Barnes)
Alternate (middle back row) Winston Schneider (Anne Madison)
Hon Mentions:
(3rd R) Bathan Liu (Anne Madison)
(3rd L) Zachary Jacobsen (Paul Barnes)

Senior Performance – Sr String

From left – String Alternate Nicholas Li (Tracy Sands), string judge Jubal Fulks, Winner Libby Meade (Ruth Meints)

Young Artist Performance – Piano

MTNA Young Artist Piano Competitors and their teachers

From left: Winner – Rebekah Stiles (Paul Barnes)
Alternate – Ruoshui Deng (Mark Clinton)
Honorable Mention – Maverick Harrold (Kristin Taylor)

2022 NMTA State Performance Competitions

Junior level Left to Right

L – R: Jack Dickinson (Anne Madison), 1st place – Junya Duan (Chern Voon Fung), 2nd place – Jonathan Zeng (Marina Fabrikant), Sam Kitchen (Jennifer Novak Haar); Not pictured: Honorable Mention – Angela Sun (Jana Manning), Kaylee Cornish (Yulia Kalashnikova)

Senior level

L – R: 1st Place – Bennett Lambelet (Bryan Stanley), Andy Wu (Tammy Miller), Ivan Fedorchuk (Yulia Kalashnikova), 2nd Place – Chuyee Huang (Boban Martic), Lachlan O’Keefe (Boban Martic)

Collegiate level

L – R: Joshua Miller (Kristin Taylor), 1st Place – Edith Hickman (Kristin Taylor), Anna Renard (Kristin Taylor)